Post Atlantica - Le Grand Café
Post Atlantica - Le Grand Café
Post Atlantica - Le Grand Café
Post Atlantica - Le Grand Café
Post Atlantica - Le Grand Café
Post Atlantica - Le Grand Café
Post Atlantica - Le Grand Café
Post Atlantica - Le Grand Café
Post Atlantica - Le Grand Café
Post Atlantica - Le Grand Café
Post Atlantica - Le Grand Café
Post Atlantica - Le Grand Café
Post Atlantica - Le Grand Café
Post Atlantica - Le Grand Café
Post Atlantica - Le Grand Café

Exhibition

Noémie Goudal’s work, finely balanced between realism and invention, is an attempt to understand landscape by approaching it from multiple directions. For several years, the artist has used photography, video and immersive installation to develop a body of work related to discoveries made by paleoclimatologists. Paleoclimatologists look for clues (fossils, pollen, or carbon atoms captured in ice) that allow them to form hypotheses about past and future climate: how warm was it 300 million years ago? How have tectonic plates shifted and what climatic upheavals did this bring about? Researchers can draw extremely vast conclusions from elements that are sometimes microscopically small: in her work, Noémie Goudal, fascinated by this conceptual vertigo, replays these complex inquiries whereby landscape explains itself in the light of its own history rather than through the prism of the history of mankind. What has landscape been through to get to where it is today? What will it be tomorrow? How could this continuously moving landscape material be translated in physical terms? Using artifice and scenery, optical illusion and trompe-l’œil, Noémie Goudal’s images sublimate their scientific foundations without abandoning them, opening up onto all kinds of imaginary interpretations.

A TITLE CONCERTINAED

Any number of scholarly or technical terms include the prefix Post in their construction, indicating immediate succession in space or time. In particular, we use it to designate a concept following on from another, but which we are unable to directly and precisely name. Post-colonialism, post-industrial society or postmodernity are defined in relation to what came before, but the contours of their immediate sense haven’t yet been clarified.

There is a similar hazy indeterminacy in the title of Noémie Goudal’s exhibition at Le Grand Café: POST ATLANTICA looks like an enigma, a rhythm of alliterative sounds contracting the notions of space and time into one expression. The title could easily refer to the artist’s work in its entirety and not just this exhibition, Noémie Goudal’s art being so often located in the constant to-and-fro between actual geography and the past and/or the future, between the information that she conveys and what she suggests. In its generality, this title raises questions about an enormous territory, the Atlantic, with disquieting or even crepuscular undertones: after the profound modifications of the Anthropocene, what will the ecological future of these waters be? As usual, Noémie Goudal also asks us to look to the past, to the distant times when Africa and America were a single supercontinent which then fragmented. The geologist John J. W. Rogers named this paleocontinent Atlantica, since the division of this space created the South Atlantic Ocean around 200 million years ago. The title POST ATLANTICA therefore incorporates the idea of a shifting landscape, and intimately connects the exhibition to a concertina of multiple spaciotemporal layers.

BREATHING LIFE INTO LANDSCAPE

When she is building her pictorial devices Noémie Goudal uses a kind of handmade scenery that deliberately displays its structural archaisms and imperfections in opposition to the smooth aesthetic of digital retouching tools. The artist’s new installation, presented in the large space on the ground floor of Le Grand Café, reasserts her knowingly rudimentary approach and the poetics of modest special effects in inventive paper scenery that emphasises the materiality of the image itself. Entitled Inhale Exhale, two screens are set up and presented back-to-back, playing out-of-sync loops of the same video projection. The images immerse the visitor in a calm marshland landscape with characteristically dense bankside vegetation. A number of scenery flats emerge from the plane of greenish water, hoisted by a system of ropes and pulleys, then disappear once again beneath the stagnant surface. The setup, a performance filmed in a static shot, allows new layers of tropical vegetation to slowly appear: palm trees and banana plants, that make up different points in the memory of the landscape. Here, the artist is making a subtle reference to the history of geology, to the German climatologist Alfred Wegener’s formulation of his theory of continental drift in 1912. Long after his death, the mechanisms of plate tectonics became clear to the scientific community, as did the visual interlocking of Africa and Latin America, the oceanic ridge, and the presence of particular plant species and minerals on both sides of the Atlantic. The palm or the banana recurrently appear as such in Noémie Goudal’s work: they are markers of movement, standing on the two sides of the bank, witnesses to the history of a dislocated and torn landscape. This idea, dizzying for a human, that leads to having to think of a territory as being in perpetual movement, took a long time to be adopted. The installation Inhale Exhale integrates the perpetuum mobile in a meditative and choreographic form: the images turn their backs on each other with a delay, to a rhythm of point and counterpoint like a musical round or a vital, primal respiration. This is further amplified by an englobing ambient sound, sounds of wildlife and an alarming murmur that seem to surge from the bowels of the earth, coupled to the almost comical creaking of the scenery being operated. On a side wall, the artist presents exactly that: two photographs from the filming, full of inventive machineries, that reveal the construction of her own images.

Outside the projection space, on a full-height daylit stud wall that stands facing the large window bay, the artist is showing Décantation, the recent developments of the Démantèlement series. It too evokes the continual metamorphosis of an almost crystalline topography, nuanced with delicate tints tending towards white, pale blue and evanescent pink: a mountain is photographed and printed on water-soluble paper, in a mise en abyme it is then repeatedly reinserted in its original landscape and progressively washed out. The photographic process that is employed means that the monolithic mountain seems to gradually melt, just as glaciers are in the present day. The viewer’s body stands between this mosaic of liquified minerals and the exhibition’s surroundings (Saint-Nazaire and the stream of urban life that flows on the other side of the glass) like an interpretive medium, physically invited to take up a position in respect of the surrounding images.

CAVE

In art as in architecture, caves are spaces that have always inspired very particular ways of imagining the world, of forming concepts that are both mental and geophysical, naturalistic and mythological. Noémie Goudal has already worked with this motif, which can be seen as an interface between mental and physical space, a terrestrial laboratory tied to the emergence of art and images. Most notably, in the installation Haven her body was the cave appears as the earth’s matrix, treated as a border between reality and fiction, truth and invention. At Le Grand Café, the artist is presenting a new work in which the cave plays the principal role, correlated with questions of point of view and of perception: how to be part of the perspective of one image while offering up a landscape that is part-real, part-artificial?

To this end, Noémie Goudal revisits the technique of anamorphosis, the secret art of perspective (Albrecht Dürer): on large strips of paper falling from the ceiling to the ground like backdrops in a photo studio, she presents deformed photographs of the space which can be recomposed from a preestablished point of view. Once again, it is about superimposed planes and fragmentations that create unexpected perceptions, that question our relationship to space and our imagination of space, and that reconsider the active place of the spectator in general. The title of this new installation, Study on Perspective III, covering both the focus on reality and its framing, both landscape and a change of scenery, is a strong sign of the obsessive research that Noémie Goudal carries out through her work.

PHOENIX

Like a mobile in a field of forces, the world such as Noémie Goudal represents it is constantly subjected to the dynamic determinism of the elements; water and fire being recurrent operators. On the first floor of the art centre, fire takes a leading role: a symbol of destruction and purification, fire embodies an elemental comfort and warmth that is as connected to change and renewal as it is to death and hell. Noémie Goudal’s most recent film, created for this exhibition, relates to a comparatively recent discovery. On a mission in Antarctica, a team drilling boreholes discovered coal deposits, a fossil fuel created by the carbonisation of plant organisms, which would prove the presence of tropical plants at that spot. Like a memory of fire beneath the ice, this part of Antarctica would therefore have been much closer to the Equator than was previously thought. In a poetic translation of this discovery, Noémie Goudal’s film is titled Below the Deep South, since Antarctica is at the southernmost point of the planisphere; once again it relies on an optical illusion, where layers of scenery that represent the jungle stand one behind another in front of the camera, from the smallest to the largest, to form a single body of landscape. Layer by layer the artist sets fire to it, and, as the scenery is consumed, paradoxical feelings are aroused: fascination in the face of the earth’s power and its internal heat, fire as an instrument of passing time allowing the transition from one landscape to another, and the deathly sadness provoked by the destruction of an ecosystem, cruelly manifested by the recent huge wildfires connected to climate change. The volume of the soundtrack decreases as the public burning progresses: the noises of the jungle die down at the same rate as the flames, until finally there is just the chirp of a cricket.

Before we reach the film, Noémie Goudal is showing five photographs drawn from her Phœnix series in a pallid neon-lit space. Once again, through the allusion in the title, they recall the metaphor of fire as principle of death and rebirth. Picking up on the motif of the palm tree as a marker of temperature across the ages, these photographs are produced by a particular process: the artist photographs a palm grove that she has illuminated with white and artificial light, and then makes a life-size print of the electric landscape. The resulting image is next partitioned in strips, stretched on a frame, placed in front of the palm grove, and rephotographed to create a disturbing regression. With this complex device, Noémie Goudal arrives at a kind of optical marquetery, a disconcerting woven photography that disrupts the laws of both gravity and perspective.

Even though they are made by hand, these Phœnix seem to relate to glitch art, computer images deformed by digital accidents that often show as de-structured pixels, abnormal colours or photographic aberrations. The artist and theoretician Rosa Menkman, author of The Glitch Momentum, describes this art as “wonderful interruption that shifts an object away from its ordinary form and discourse”. Although technically distanced from these ‘bugs’, Noémie Goudal comes paradoxically close to them: she defends the beauty of imperfection, and destabilises our ways of believing in images and representations. Alternating appearances and disappearances, these photographs ask us to excavate the multiple layers of their composition, and we should not forget the polysemy of the title: the date palm was named Phœnix dactylifera by the botanist Linné in 1734, perhaps because the Ancient Greeks considered it to be the tree of the Phoenicians (Phoinix); perhaps because the palm tree can survive a partial burning, like the bird being reborn from its ashes.

Strange circulations traverse the whole exhibition, clashing or harmonising on unexpected levels, where freezing links with burning, the mineral with the wet, brightness with darkness – Noémie Goudal’s works pursue a turbulent and protean matter, paying constant close attention to understanding the movements of the world by augmenting the density of images, by enlarging their embrace of space and time.

 

Éva Prouteau, art critic

Biographies

Born in 1984, lives and works in Paris.
Noémie Goudal is represented by Edel Assanti (London) and Gallery Les Filles du Calvaire (Paris).

website
gallery website
personal website

Post Atlantica - Le Grand Café

Exposition

En équilibre parfait entre réalisme et fiction construite, Noémie Goudal cherche à appréhender le paysage selon des angles pluriels. Depuis plusieurs années, par la photographie, la vidéo et l’installation immersive, l’artiste développe un corpus d’œuvres liées aux découvertes des paléoclimatologues. Ces derniers cherchent des indices (fossiles, pollens, atomes de carbone encapsulés dans la glace…) qui leur permettent de faire l’hypothèse du climat passé voire futur : quelle température faisait-il il y a 300 millions d’années ? Comment les plaques tectoniques ont-elles dérivé et quels bouleversements climatiques cela a-t-il entraîné ? À partir d’éléments parfois microscopiques, ces chercheurs déduisent des conclusions très vastes : fascinée par cet aspect vertigineux, Noémie Goudal rejoue dans ses œuvres cette enquête complexe où le paysage s’élucide à l’aune de son histoire propre, et non par le prisme de l’histoire de l’Homme. Qu’est-ce que le paysage a traversé pour arriver à ce qu’il est aujourd’hui ? Que sera-t-il demain ? Comment traduire plastiquement cette matière paysage en mouvement perpétuel ? Dans l’artifice et le décor, l’illusion d’optique ou le trompe-l’œil, les images de Noémie Goudal subliment le substrat scientifique dont elles ne se départissent jamais pour s’ouvrir à toutes les interprétations imaginaires.

TITRE TÉLESCOPAGE

Le terme Post entre dans la construction de nombreux mots savants ou techniques, où il indique la postériorité immédiate dans l’espace ou dans le temps. Ce préfixe est plus précisément utilisé pour désigner un concept succédant à un autre, sans qu’on puisse a priori lui attribuer un nom précis. Le post-colonialisme, la société post-industrielle ou la postmodernité se définissent par rapport à ce qui les précèdent, mais n’ont pas encore éclairci les contours de leur dénomination au présent.
Le même trouble indéfini opère dans le titre de l’exposition de Noémie Goudal au Grand Café : POST ATLANTICA se présente comme une énigme, rythmée d’allitérations sonores, et contracte en une même expression la notion d’espace et de temps. Au-delà de l’exposition, ce titre pourrait bien désigner l’œuvre de l’artiste dans son ensemble, tant l’art de Noémie Goudal se situe dans le va-et-vient constant entre la géographie réelle, ce qu’elle nous apporte comme informations, et le voyage dans le temps, passé et/ou futur, qu’elle suggère. Ce titre, de qualité générique, questionne un territoire énorme, l’Atlantique, avec une vibration inquiète, voire crépusculaire : que sera l’après écologique de ces eaux profondément modifiées par l’anthropocène ? Comme à son habitude, Noémie Goudal nous invite également à regarder vers le passé, aux temps lointains où l’Afrique et l’Amérique ne formaient qu’un supercontinent qui s’est ensuite fragmenté. Atlantica fut le nom donné à ce paléocontinent par le géologue John J. W. Rogers, étant donné que la division de cet espace créa l’océan Atlantique sud, il y a environ 200 millions d’années. Le titre POST ATLANTICA convoque ainsi la notion de mouvance du paysage, et relie intimement l’exposition au télescopage de multiples strates spatio-temporelles.

INSUFFLER LE PAYSAGE

Pour construire ses dispositifs visuels, Noémie Goudal privilégie une forme d’artisanat du décor, qui arbore volontiers ses archaïsmes structurels et ses imperfections, à rebours de l’esthétique lisse des logiciels de retouche numérique. Présentée dans la grande salle du rez-de-chaussée du Grand Café, la nouvelle installation de l’artiste confirme cette dimension savamment bricolée, la poétique des effets spéciaux modestes, l’inventivité des décors en papier où la matérialité de l’image s’impose. Intitulée Inhale Exhale, elle met en scène deux écrans présentés dos à dos, qui diffusent en boucle la même projection vidéographique, diffusée en décalage. Les images plongent le visiteur dans un paysage de marais calme, caractérisé par le fourmillement végétal de ses berges. De ce plan d’eau verdâtre surgissent plusieurs pans de décors hissés par un système de cordes et poulies, puis à nouveau immergés sous la surface stagnante. Performance en plan fixe, ce dispositif laisse apparaître lentement de nouvelles strates de végétation tropicale, palmiers et bananiers, qui constituent différents lieux de mémoire du paysage. Ici, l’artiste fait subtilement référence à l’histoire de la géologie, lorsque le climatologue allemand Alfred Wegener formula sa théorie de la dérive des continents en 1912. Bien après sa mort, les mécanismes de la tectonique des plaques sont devenus évidents pour la communauté scientifique, tout comme l’emboîtement visuel de l’Afrique et de l’Amérique latine, la dorsale océanique ou la présence de certaines espèces végétales ou de minéraux de part et d’autre de l’Atlantique. À ce titre, le palmier ou le bananier apparaissent de manière récurrente dans l’œuvre de Noémie Goudal : ce sont des marqueurs de mouvement, dressés des deux côtés de la rive, témoins de l’histoire de ce paysage disloqué, écartelé. Cette notion, vertigineuse pour l’Homme, qui induit de penser un territoire en perpétuel mouvement, fut longue à prendre en considération : l’installation Inhale Exhale intègre ce perpetuum mobile sous une forme méditative et chorégraphique, rythmée en point et contrepoint, les images se tournant le dos de manière différée, comme un canon musical, un souffle vital et originel encore amplifié par une ambiance sonore englobante, bruits de la faune et rumeur alarmante qui semble sourdre des entrailles de la terre, couplé aux grincements presque comiques provoqués par l’activation du décor.
Sur un mur annexe, l’artiste présente justement deux photographies de tournage, révélatrices de la dimension construite, pleine de machineries inventives, de ses propres images.

À l’extérieur de cet espace de projection, sur une cimaise toute hauteur spatialisée en face de la grande baie vitrée en lumière du jour, l’artiste présente Décantation, les derniers développements de la série Démantèlement. Cette dernière évoque elle aussi la métamorphose continue d’une topographie presque cristalline, nuancée de teintes délicates tirant vers le blanc, le bleu pâle et le rose évanescent : une montagne est photographiée et imprimée sur un papier hydrosoluble, remise en abyme à répétition dans son paysage d’origine en étant progressivement délavée. Par le procédé photographique employé, le monolithe semble progressivement fondre, comme le font les glaciers aujourd’hui. Entre cette mosaïque de minéralités liquéfiées et le contexte d’exposition (la ville de Saint-Nazaire, le flux de la vie urbaine qui s’écoule de l’autre côté de la vitre), le corps du spectateur s’interpose comme médium interprétatif, invité physiquement à prendre position face aux images qui l’entourent.

GROTTE

En art comme en architecture, l’espace de la grotte a toujours inspiré des dispositions très particulières à rêver le monde, à le concevoir conjointement de façon mentale et géophysique, naturaliste et mythologique. Noémie Goudal a déjà travaillé sur ce motif qui pourrait s’interpréter comme une interface entre espaces psychique et physique, un laboratoire tellurique lié à l’apparition de l’art et de l’image, notamment dans l’installation Haven her body was, où la grotte apparaît comme la matrice de la terre, traitée à la lisière du réel et de la fiction, du vrai et de l’inventé. Au Grand Café, l’artiste présente une nouvelle œuvre où la grotte tient le rôle principal, corrélé à la question du point de vue et de la perception. Comment entrer dans la perspective d’une image en offrant un paysage mi-réel, mi-artificiel ?
Noémie Goudal revisite à cet effet le procédé de l’anamorphose, cet art de la perspective secrète (Albrecht Dürer) : sur de grands lais de papier qui chutent du plafond vers le sol, comme les cycloramas des studios photos, elle met en scène les photographies déformées de cet espace, qui se recompose à partir d’un point de vue préétabli. Il est donc à nouveau question de superpositions de plans et de fragmentations pour créer des perceptions inédites, interroger notre rapport à l’espace et à notre imaginaire de l’espace, et reconsidérer plus largement la place active du spectateur. Le titre de cette nouvelle installation, Study on Perspective III, indique bien l’obsessionnelle recherche que Noémie Goudal mène via ses œuvres, entre mise au point et cadrage de la réalité, entre paysage et dépaysement.

PHŒNIX

Comme un mobile soumis à un champ de forces, le monde tel que le représente Noémie Goudal est constamment assujetti à un déterminisme dynamique élémentaire, où l’eau et le feu sont des opérateurs récurrents. Au premier étage du centre d’art, le feu prend une place prépondérante : symbole destructeur et purificateur, il incarne un principe réconfortant et réchauffant, lié au changement et au renouvellement autant qu’à la mort et à l’enfer. Produit pour l’exposition, le dernier film de Noémie Goudal est relié à une découverte relativement récente : en mission en Antarctique, une équipe a pratiqué des forages et a découvert un gisement de houille, combustible fossile issu de la carbonisation d’organismes végétaux, ce qui prouverait qu’à cet endroit, il y aurait eu une présence végétale tropicale. Mémoire du feu sous la glace, cette partie de l’Antarctique aurait ainsi été beaucoup plus proche de l’Équateur qu’on ne le pensait jusqu’à présent. Traduction poétique de cette découverte, le film de Noémie Goudal s’intitule Below the Deep South, l’Antarctique étant au sud du sud du planisphère ; il repose à nouveau sur une illusion d’optique, où des strates de décors représentant la jungle se dressent les uns derrière les autres devant la caméra, du plus petit au plus grand, pour former un seul corps-paysage. L’artiste y met le feu, strate par strate, et la consomption de ces décors suggère des sensations paradoxales : la fascination devant cette puissance tellurique et sa chaleur interne, le feu comme instrument de passage du temps, qui permet aussi de transiter d’un paysage à un autre, et la tristesse mortifère que provoque la destruction d’un écosystème, les grands incendies reliés au changement climatique en constituant une cruelle manifestation récente. À mesure que cet autodafé progresse, la bande son va decrescendo : les bruits de la jungle disparaissent au fur et à mesure avec le feu, et à la toute fin, seul un grillon stridule.
Avant d’accéder au film, dans un espace éclairé de quelques néons blafards, Noémie Goudal expose cinq photographies tirées de sa série Phœnix, qui convoque à nouveau, par l’allusion de son titre, la métaphore du feu comme principe de mort et de renaissance. Reprenant le motif du palmier comme marqueur thermique à travers les âges, ces photographies sont obtenues par un procédé singulier : l’artiste photographie une palmeraie qu’elle éclaire d’une lumière blanche et artificielle, puis effectue un tirage échelle 1 de ce paysage électrique. L’image obtenue est alors partitionnée en bandes, tendues sur un cadre et disposées devant la palmeraie pour être photographiées à nouveau, dans une mise en abyme troublante. Par ce dispositif complexe, Noémie Goudal obtient une sorte de marqueterie visuelle ou de tissage photographique déconcertant qui bouleverse à la fois les lois de la gravité et de la perspective.
Pourtant construite de manière artisanale, ces Phœnix semblent relever du glitch art, anglicisme désignant un visuel numérique déformé par un accident digital, qui se traduit souvent par des pixels déstructurés, des couleurs anormales ou des aberrations photographiques. L’artiste théoricienne Rosa Menkman, auteure de The Glitch Momentum, décrit cet art comme étant « l’expérience magnifique d’une interruption qui détourne un objet de sa forme et de son discours ordinaire ». Techniquement éloignée de ces bugs, Noémie Goudal s’en rapproche paradoxalement : elle aussi défend la beauté de l’imperfection, et déstabilise nos rapports à la croyance des images et des représentations. Alternances d’apparitions et de disparitions, ces photographies nous invitent à fouiller les multiples strates qui les composent, sans oublier la polysémie de leur titre : le palmier dattier a été dénommé Phœnix dactylifera par le botaniste Linné en 1734, peut-être parce que les Grecs de l’Antiquité le considéraient comme l’arbre des Phéniciens (Phoinix) ; peut-être parce que le palmier possède la capacité de survivre après avoir été partiellement brûlé, à l’instar de l’oiseau renaissant de ses cendres.

L’ensemble de l’exposition est ainsi traversé de circulations étranges qui s’entrechoquent ou s’harmonisent sur des échelles inattendues, où se conjuguent le gel et l’embrasement, le minéral et l’aqueux, l’étincellement et l’obscurité – une matière turbulente et protéiforme que traquent les œuvres de Noémie Goudal, toujours attentives à comprendre les mouvements du monde en augmentant l’épaisseur des images, pour embrasser davantage encore d’espace et de temps.

Éva Prouteau, critique d’art

Biographie

Née en 1984, vit et travaille à Paris.
Noémie Goudal est représentée par les galeries Edel Assanti (Londres) et Les Filles du Calvaire (Paris).

site de la galerie
site personnel