Proximities - Le Grand Café
Proximities - Le Grand Café
Proximities - Le Grand Café
Proximities - Le Grand Café
Proximities - Le Grand Café
Proximities - Le Grand Café

Exhibition

Arnaud Théval is a photographer from Nantes who is interested in individual and collective identity. He habitually intervenes in places where there is a strong idea of group or community: a neighbourhood, a school, a prison, a business…

His photographs are always the result of an encounter with people. He isn’t striving to produce beautiful photographs when he makes these images of crowds without a background or an environment, but rather to trouble the viewer with mixed feelings, and by the singularity of each person photographed and the strange sense of their disappearance / appearance through contact with others in the crowd.

For his project in Saint-Nazaire, he chose to work at the Chantiers de l’Atlantique shipyards for several weeks before presenting his work on the premises of the Chantiers themselves as well as at Le Grand Café.

Biography

Born in 1971.
Works and lives in Nantes.

website

Proximités - Le Grand Café
Proximités - Le Grand Café
Proximités - Le Grand Café
Proximités - Le Grand Café
Proximités - Le Grand Café
Proximités - Le Grand Café

Exposition

Arnaud Théval est un photographe nantais qui s’intéresse à l’identité individuelle et collective. Il a ainsi l’habitude d’intervenir dans des lieux où l’idée de groupe ou de communauté est forte : quartier, école, prison, entreprise…

Ses photographies résultent toujours d’une rencontre avec des personnes. Lorsqu’il réalise des images de foules sans décor, ni environnement, il ne s’attache pas à produire une belle photographie, mais plutôt à troubler le spectateur par un sentiment mêlé à la fois, puis par la singularité de chacun des personnages photographiés et l’étrange sentiment de leur disparition / apparition au contact des autres, dans la foule.

Pour son projet à Saint-Nazaire, il a choisi de travailler aux Chantiers de l’Atlantique pendant quelques semaines avant de présenter son travail dans l’enceinte même des Chantiers ainsi qu’au Grand Café.

Biographie

Né en 1971.
Vit et travaille à Nantes.

site internet